betapaster.blogg.se

How to partition a macbook pro
How to partition a macbook pro




how to partition a macbook pro
  1. How to partition a macbook pro how to#
  2. How to partition a macbook pro install#
  3. How to partition a macbook pro drivers#

( Download direct from Apple here.) This nifty little app lets you create a bootable copy of the recovery environment on the flash drive. It sucks, but such is life. The cost of a USB stick doesn’t even break the noise floor considering you’re looking at a $2k-$4k laptop.Ģ. Don’t even think about trying to fake this using a single drive. A CD will not work (and why do they make those anymore?!). During the install, you’ll have to unmount the primary hard drive and boot from the this. These are ridiculously cheap (my 64GB SanDisk was $40 at Microcenter on closeout). I recommend a USB 3 stick with at least 4GB of memory (big enough to hold a Win7 ISO). So, here’s the procedure, assuming you’re starting from scratch.ġ. (Despite my previous disparaging comments about Linux, and OSX’s dev tools, I’ve now spent enough time with both OSX that I am annoyed when I have to use Windows.

how to partition a macbook pro

OSX, on the other hand, can see as many partitions as I’ve thrown at it, and happily boots from wherever you want it to live.

How to partition a macbook pro how to#

(If you try and go beyond that limit, it’ll ask if you want to convert the drive to a “Dynamic Disk.” If you say yes, you will no longer be able to boot Windows, and are pretty much screwed, unless you’re one of the five people that have figured out how to turn a dynamic disk back into a basic disk.) The primary challenge in this configuration is recognizing and adapting to the fact that Windows can’t see more than four partitions on its boot drive.

How to partition a macbook pro install#

The only workaround I found was to partition the drive in OSX, move it to a PC (Thinkpad, in this case), and install Windows and Linux from there – not fun, to say the least. Note: The Late 2011 model MacBook Pro I had before upgrading to the Retina refused to boot from a USB stick. My current configuration is Mountain Lion, Win7 圆4, Ubuntu 12, a shared data partition and, of course, the OSX Recovery partition. There’s quite a bit of documentation out there about how exactly to go about this, but most of it either omits crucial steps or makes unacceptable compromises like removing the OSX recovery partition.Īfter much research (and a few reinstalls) I managed to get this to work quite well. So, I need to be able to switch between these three operating systems. I spend most of my time moving around and working on my MBPr (stupidest abbreviation ever!), and VMs like VirtualBox, Fusion and Parallels won’t work for me since their 3D acceleration support is beyond crappy. I’ve verified that it works fine for other Linux versions and OSX Mavericks, but haven’t tried with Yosemite.Ī few of the applications I’m working on are required to run on The Big Two (+1) (Windows, OSX and Linux). I am still attempting to get my old Sitefinity-based site loaded so that I can figure out which files are required and where they should be placed without having to nuke my Bootcamp partition.Īlso, this was initially written for Ubuntu 12.x and OSX Mountain Lion. Attaching an external keyboard or mouse does not appear to address the problem. Without that step, you’ll have a non-responsive keyboard and mouse, preventing completion of the install.

How to partition a macbook pro drivers#

Note: The Haswell-based MBP has an internal modification which requires adding the USB3 drivers from the Bootcamp download to the Win7 installer so that they are automatically loaded.






How to partition a macbook pro